The greatest gift is the
gift of the teachings
Retreat Dharma Talks at Spirit Rock Meditation Center

DPP7 Retreat #5

2024-04-28 (7 days) Spirit Rock Meditation Center

2024-04-30 DPP7: Four Stages of Awakening 1:35:37
Tempel Smith
In the Pali Canon the process of awakening typically passes through four stages of awakening: Stream Entry, Once Returner, Non Returner, and Arhat. For lay people in the west the two most important are experiential Stream Entry and the aspiration of the full awakening of an Arhat. These four stages are most clearly laid out as the breaking of the 10 fetters.
2024-05-02 DPP7 - Three Nibbanas in Theravada 1:36:21
Tempel Smith
Spirit Rock has blessed lineage from both Ven. Ajahn Cha and Ven. Mahasi Sayadaw. From our deep connection to these traditional lineages, we can see at least three different kinds of Nibbana: 1. Nibbana for Everyone; 2. Dealthless Awareness; and 3. Complete Zero. As a maturing community of western Insight practitioners rooted in several lineages, we have the benefit of many styles of practice and Buddhist understandings. We also have the challenge of there being so many practices, and experience to where they lead. Here in this talk we explore three common understandings of Nibbana and how the various traditions guide us to them.
Creative Commons License